Click here to go to our new forums at http://tw.forumosa.com
If you are a Forumosan Regular, when you log in for the FIRST TIME, you must RESET your password by using the Password Recovery system.

Usernames on the new forums must not contain any SPACES and must end with LETTER or a NUMBER; if yours does, you will be prompted to change your Username
Contact us at admin(at)forumosa(dot)com or @forumosa on Twitter or on our Facebook Page if you have any questions or problems logging back in

Opinions & Experiences: Test Prep Schools in Taipei

Moderator: Tempo Gain

Opinions & Experiences: Test Prep Schools in Taipei

Postby RFT » 23 Apr 2016, 09:03

Hi everyone,

So I'm relatively new in Taiwan and looking to teach here for the short-term at least (despite understanding that it's far from lucrative). I have over 2 years of experience, mainly teaching TOEFL, IELTS, SAT, and SSAT either in a classroom environment, 1-to-1 consulting for a school, or freelance. I'm not really a young kid kinda guy/teacher, and I also don't find much pleasure in teaching classrooms of 30+, so my options obviously aren't as extensive as in other places. However, I'd love to continue teaching test prep if possible.

I've been using this forum, Facebook, general online searches, and word of mouth to kinda feel out what the options are in terms of test prep schools, and so far I have had some form of contact with the following:

‌• ACI
‌• Envision
‌• ELITE
‌• TutorMe
‌• CES

I've also recently sent out resumes with no response to:

‌• Merica
‌• WhyGo

One school I've definitely seen reason to avoid after perusing this forum would be:

‌• GVO