Click here to go to our new forums at http://tw.forumosa.com
If you are a Forumosan Regular, when you log in for the FIRST TIME, you must RESET your password by using the Password Recovery system.

Usernames on the new forums must not contain any SPACES and must end with LETTER or a NUMBER; if yours does, you will be prompted to change your Username
Contact us at admin(at)forumosa(dot)com or @forumosa on Twitter or on our Facebook Page if you have any questions or problems logging back in

SSD or RAM - to increase performance?

Moderator: Mick

Re: SSD or RAM - to increase performance?

Postby Blaquesmith » 25 Jun 2016, 01:19

Both. Less than 8 GB of RAM is not recommended if you have an SSD, the system will use swap, which will increase the failure probabilities. As for the SSD/HDD thing, with the SSD it will be faster, and in a laptop/tablet/moving computer, it makes total sense having something without moving parts. the likeliness of an HDD failing inside a laptop you move around often is higher than the SSD failure rate.
"Roda el món i torna al Born!" - famous saying from Barcelona.
User avatar
Blaquesmith
Wild Chicken Bus Driver (yě jī chē sī jī)
Wild Chicken Bus Driver (yě jī chē sī jī)
 
Posts: 1931
Joined: 14 Aug 2009, 16:08
Location: Taipei
In Taiwan since: 08 Aug 2012



Re: SSD or RAM - to increase performance?

Postby Baas Babelaas » 29 Jun 2016, 11:34

If I may be so bold as to ask -since I also have to replace my trusty ASUS since it went kaput- is this the 35K model? you know, the ultrathin, available in pearly colors? No internal DVD, must buy external though


That's the one!
User avatar
Baas Babelaas
Mandarin Marvel (Guóyǔ gāoshǒu)
Mandarin Marvel (Guóyǔ gāoshǒu)
 
Posts: 1864
{ AUTHOR_TOPIC }
Joined: 19 Nov 2004, 19:51
Location: In my mind



Re: SSD or RAM - to increase performance?

Postby Icon » 29 Jun 2016, 12:26

Baas Babelaas wrote:
If I may be so bold as to ask -since I also have to replace my trusty ASUS since it went kaput- is this the 35K model? you know, the ultrathin, available in pearly colors? No internal DVD, must buy external though


That's the one!


Yah, I am getting pink.
Lo urgente no deja tiempo para lo importante. Mafalda.

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought. Eat the delicious food. Walk in the sunshine. Jump in the ocean. Say the truth that you’re carrying in your heart like hidden treasure. Be silly. Be kind. Be weird. There’s no time for anything else.
User avatar
Icon
Guan Yin (Guānyīn)
 
Posts: 19075
Joined: 09 Feb 2006, 18:03
Location: Xindian



Re: SSD or RAM - to increase performance?

Postby jesus80 » 30 Jun 2016, 10:35

I would not only upgrade the HW, but also remove the crapware. Computers, specially laptops, come with a lot of shit that runs in the background eating up your resources in the best of the cases. In the worst cases, these crappy applications crash and prompt stupid things.
User avatar
jesus80
"Drinks for the House!"
 
Posts: 4125
Joined: 11 Feb 2011, 10:31



Re: SSD or RAM - to increase performance?

Postby Baas Babelaas » 30 Jun 2016, 10:43

jesus80 wrote:I would not only upgrade the HW, but also remove the crapware. Computers, specially laptops, come with a lot of shit that runs in the background eating up your resources in the best of the cases. In the worst cases, these crappy applications crash and prompt stupid things.


It's being stripped of all the crapness. Initially the techy in the office put Win7 on, but when he took out the HDD and put in the SSD he put Win10 on (sounded excited that it has a touch screen). I won't be faffing with the screen.

Also, Windoze Office. That's it.

The rest I will install. Starting with an anti-virus. Is AVG still good? Or Avast? Anything better?
User avatar
Baas Babelaas
Mandarin Marvel (Guóyǔ gāoshǒu)
Mandarin Marvel (Guóyǔ gāoshǒu)
 
Posts: 1864
{ AUTHOR_TOPIC }
Joined: 19 Nov 2004, 19:51
Location: In my mind



Re: SSD or RAM - to increase performance?

Postby hansioux » 30 Jun 2016, 10:49

Baas Babelaas wrote:
It's being stripped of all the crapness.

The rest I will install. Starting with an anti-virus. Is AVG still good? Or Avast? Anything better?


you know I'm gonna say, and everyone's tired of my saying it, but I still have to say it... To strip off all of the crap, Linux. Best Anti-virus, Linux.

http://www.ubuntu.com/download/desktop/ ... ture=amd64
Don't confuse me with your reasonableness.
User avatar
hansioux
Thinking of Staging a Coup (xiǎng yào gǎo zhèng biàn)
Thinking of Staging a Coup (xiǎng yào gǎo zhèng biàn)
 
Posts: 6457
Joined: 28 Jul 2012, 14:41
In Taiwan since: 30 Jun 2006



Re: SSD or RAM - to increase performance?

Postby Doraemonster » 30 Jun 2016, 10:56

Baas Babelaas wrote:Starting with an anti-virus. Is AVG still good? Or Avast? Anything better?

This is a major resource hog. You can use https://www.virustotal.com/ whenever you need to check any suspicious files without installing one.
User avatar
Doraemonster
High School Triad Member (gāozhōng liúmáng)
High School Triad Member (gāozhōng liúmáng)
 
Posts: 549
Joined: 07 Jul 2008, 00:08
Location: Taibeishilisongshangaojigongnong Vocational High School



Re: SSD or RAM - to increase performance?

Postby Baas Babelaas » 30 Jun 2016, 12:53

Just got it back. Blazing fast!

Put AVG on for the meanwhile. The techy put a Chinese anti-virus I don't trust at all - 360. Will remove.
User avatar
Baas Babelaas
Mandarin Marvel (Guóyǔ gāoshǒu)
Mandarin Marvel (Guóyǔ gāoshǒu)
 
Posts: 1864
{ AUTHOR_TOPIC }
Joined: 19 Nov 2004, 19:51
Location: In my mind



Re: SSD or RAM - to increase performance?

Postby jesus80 » 30 Jun 2016, 13:19

Baas Babelaas wrote:Just got it back. Blazing fast!

Put AVG on for the meanwhile. The techy put a Chinese anti-virus I don't trust at all - 360. Will remove.

A couple of months ago I decided to go with the one that is built-in in windows10
User avatar
jesus80
"Drinks for the House!"
 
Posts: 4125
Joined: 11 Feb 2011, 10:31



Re: SSD or RAM - to increase performance?

Postby Icon » 30 Jun 2016, 14:40

Baas Babelaas wrote:Just got it back. Blazing fast!

Put AVG on for the meanwhile. The techy put a Chinese anti-virus I don't trust at all - 360. Will remove.


Congrats. Enjoy!

Which Windows version are you using?
Lo urgente no deja tiempo para lo importante. Mafalda.

None of us are getting out of here alive, so please stop treating yourself like an after thought. Eat the delicious food. Walk in the sunshine. Jump in the ocean. Say the truth that you’re carrying in your heart like hidden treasure. Be silly. Be kind. Be weird. There’s no time for anything else.
User avatar
Icon
Guan Yin (Guānyīn)
 
Posts: 19075
Joined: 09 Feb 2006, 18:03
Location: Xindian



FRIENDLY REMINDER
   Please remember that Forumosa is not responsible for the content that appears on the other side of links that Forumosans post on our forums. As a discussion website, we encourage open and frank debate. We have learned that the most effective way to address questionable claims or accusations on Forumosa is by engaging in a sincere and constructive conversation. To make this website work, we must all feel safe in expressing our opinions, this also means backing up any claims with hard facts, including links to other websites.
   Please also remember that one should not believe everything one reads on the Internet, particularly from websites whose content cannot be easily verified or substantiated. Use your common sense and do not hesitate to ask for proof.
PreviousNext




Return to Technology



Who is online

Forumosans browsing this forum: No Forumosans and 0 guests

cron